RSS Feed

Carrot Macaroons

Posted on
Carrot Macaroons

Well now that Passover is just about done, I am finally getting around to posting about my treats that I’ve been eating all week.  I figured cookies that included carrots are better for me than cookies that don’t.  Right??  They also happen to have coconut and chocolate on top.  I found the inspiration for the recipe on No Meat Athlete‘s blog.  The recipe that’s posted is gluten free, but the one I made is not.  Next time I make them, I think I’ll leave out the matzoh meal.  Again, it might be that I’m using whole wheat matzoh meal, but the taste of the meal definitely came through in the flavoring.

Carrot Macaroons

(makes 24-30)

  • 1 packed cup grated raw carrots (about 2-3 medium carrots)
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 2 cups coconut flakes
  • 1/2 cup matzoh meal
  • 1/4 cup potato starch
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 vanilla bean
  • 2 TBSP sweetener of choice (agave, honey, maple syrup, or molasses)
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  The easiest way to grate your carrots is to use a food processor.  If you don’t have one, you can grate by hand, but it will take awhile.

Add all ingredients except the chocolate into a bowl and mix.  Split the vanilla bean with a paring knife and using the tip, scrape the insides of the bean into your dough.  The coconut oil is a semi-solid and therefore it might be easiest to incorporate by mixing with your hands.  It allows the oil to liquify into the mix.

Grease a baking sheet or use a silicone baking sheet for easy removal of the cookies later.  Using WET hands, roll your dough into balls and place on your sheet. Bake for 30 minutes.

When the cookies are done, melt your chocolate and either dip the tops of the cookies or use a spoon to put a dollop on top.  Enjoy!

Options: Next time I think I’ll just use REAL vanilla flavoring rather than a bean.  I also think I won’t use the matzoh meal.

About yogi126

I am a Jewish woman living in Baltimore. My husband and I enjoy movies a LOT. So, I thought I'd share our knowledge of movies, food, and life in general.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 481 other followers

