RSS Feed

No Bake Bars

Posted on
No Bake Bars

I recently decided to join this group of people that enjoy food and want to share their love of food.  It’s called the Foodie Pen Pal Program and is run by blogger Lindsay, who is a registered dietician.  What stared off as a small group has grown to over 600 people sending food around the world!  I got paired up with a newbie as well, and she let me know she likes peanut butter and chocolate.  I’m not a huge fan of peanut butter (I actually really don’t like it at all!), so I was kind of stumped with what to make.  I then saw these on Chocolate Covered Katie’s Blog and decided to change it up a bit.  Perfect!

Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars

Ingredients

  • 1.5 cups rice crispies
  • 3/4 cup oat flour (packed tightly)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1.5 tsp vanilla
  • 7.5 tbsp peanut butter
  • 4.5 tbsp maple syrup
  • 3 tbsp cocoa (unsweetened)
  • Handful of pretzels

Mix all the wet ingredients together to form a paste.

Wet Ingredients

Add the dry ingredients (except pretzels if using) to the wet ingredients.

Dry Ingredients

Mix until fully incorporated.

Batter

Line an 8×8 pan with parchment or wax paper.  Add the dough to the lined pan and smooth the dough down.  Add the pretzles, cover, and put in the fridge or freezer to set (an hour or so).  Makes 9 bars.

Bars

If you do not have oat flour, but have rolled oats, you are in LUCK!  I ended up taking about a cup of rolled oats and blended well to get about 3/4 cups of packed oats flour.

Oats getting ready to make flour

I knew it was good when my husband ate two pieces back to back….  Note: I used Better n Peanut Butter, which is a lower fat/calorie version of peanut butter.  There were not complaints from the hubs, so I assume he didn’t even realize :)

About yogi126

I am a Jewish woman living in Baltimore. My husband and I enjoy movies a LOT. So, I thought I'd share our knowledge of movies, food, and life in general.

2 responses »

  1. These look really, really tasty. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  2. I’ll never tell sound delicious – like that you can used rolled oats instead and lowfat peanut butter (I love peanut butter :-)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 480 other followers

