RSS Feed

First Movie Review

Posted on

Again, I thought I’d be reviewing Goodfellas as my first movie, but I have watched TWO movies recently that are new to me.  Ernie and I had the pleasure of watching X-Men: First Class recently.  If you’ve seen any of the X-Men movies you were probably expecting a dud.  I know I was.  But, I LOVE the X-Men.  I think these were the only comics I truly remember reading when younger.  For one thing, Magneto was Jewish.  He survived the Holocaust and used his anger for mankind as his driving factor.  Plus, I’m a science geek.  One of my favorite toys growing up was my Fisher Price microscope.  So, a set of stories about people with awesome mutations was definitely up my alley.

The four previous X-Men movies have either been GOOD or BAD.  I really liked the first two that came out.  Storm is my girl.  But then you get to the third one, which focuses so much on the Phoenix storyline from the 1980s comics, but introduces major characters with no development.  I was so angry.  Then there was the Wolverine movie.  First of all, the character Wolverine is supposed to be short.  Like for real short.  And yet they decide to use Hugh Jackman.  Whatevs.  But Hugh Jackman and Liev cannot carry this movie.  PLUS, they give Gambit this little bit part.  He was my favorite.  He was snarky before I knew what snarky was.

Again, little hope going into this newest movie in the franchise.  But much to my surprise I truly LOVED this movie.  It is entertaining and thrilling.  No real romance to speak of either, which is fine in my opinion.  There are some FABULOUS cameos (won’t spoil them for you!) in the story, that caught Ernie and I completely off guard.

Synopsis: The movie really starts with the introduction of Magneto.  You see him at the entrance of a camp with his parents being taken from him.  The guards are pulling him away and as he is reaching out towards his parents.  As this is occurring, the gate twists and is almost wrenched open until someone knocks out Magneto.  A “doctor” notices this happening and tries to get Magneto to do something with a coin, which he can’t do (his powers aren’t developed yet) and the “doctor” kills his mother.  In another place Xavier is living in this house when someone breaks in and starts stealing his food.  It is Mystique, who ends up staying with him, even as he goes on to University and become an expert in genetics.

A CIA operative realizes that something is amiss and seeks out Xavier’s help.  In doing so, they end up sort of creating the first group of mutants that fight crime together.  A Cold War stand-off is the climax point of the movie.  We are introduced to Professor Xavier, Magneto, Mystique, Angel, Beast, Banshee, Darwin, and Havoc for the good guys.  On the bad guys front there is: Riptide, Azazel, Emma Frost, and Sebastian Shaw.

All in all, I think this is a great movie.  No, it’s not going to win a Nobel Prize or an Oscar or anything of that sort.  But it is a good story.  If you enjoy the idea that there are others out there that may have the ability to do more than an average person, this is a good movie.  If you enjoy comics, this is a good movie.  If you like action, this is a good movie.  I’d give it an 8.5 out of 10.

About yogi126

I am a Jewish woman living in Baltimore. My husband and I enjoy movies a LOT. So, I thought I'd share our knowledge of movies, food, and life in general.

One response »

  1. Can’t wait to see it – thanks! Watched Wolverine and kept falling asleep during it. Sounds like you had the same opinion. Storm is my favorite as well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

