RSS Feed

The Hours

Posted on

I donate a blood product called platelets on a regular basis.  Like every 3-4 weeks.  What I enjoy most about this process (aside from knowing I’m helping someone get better or the regular Coke I drink) is I get to watch a movie during this time.  And I usually pick a pretty crappy movie or rather a movie I might not normally watch.  I’ve watched winners such as G.I. Joe (the new one) and Transformers.  But I’ve also been fortunate and seen movies like St. Elmo’s Fire  and The Help.

Movie poster

This week I decided to watch The Hours.  Why not?  It won the Golden Globe for the Best Picture and Best Actress for Nicole Kidman.  She even won the Oscar for Best Actress.  I figured I’d watch something serious this time.  Boy did I choose wrong.  I don’t think I’ve EVER seen a more depressing movie.  It starts with a suicide and ends with another and shows the first one again.  Sorry if I delivered the punch line here, but you really need to know HOW depressing this movie is.

The movie is the story of Virginia Woolf (Nicole Kidman) and her story “Mrs. Dalloway”.  Laura Brown (Julianne Moore) is the lady in the 1950s reading the book and seeming to have a difficult time coping.  Simple tasks like caring for her son and baking a cake are just too much.  In another time line is Clarissa Vaughn (Meryl Streep) throwing a major dinner party for her friend who won a poetry prize.  This friend is Richard (Ed Harris), a man dying of AIDS.  Virginia has previously gone crazy and she and her husband have moved to the country to allow her to write and relax.  Laura wants to be the perfect wife, but can’t do so, so she contemplates suicide.  Clarissa is in this seemingly loving relationship with a daughter.  But all she can think about is Richard and the life she had with him.

There was some superb acting in this movie.  I thought that Ed Harris, Julianne Moore, and Meryl Streep all gave phenomenal performances.  They brought depth to the characters they were playing.  Nicole Kidman?  NO.  I hated that STUPID nose they put on her face.  She also had this terrible accent.  Would I ever pick Nicole Kidman over Meryl Streep in this movie?  Nope.  But the American Foreign Movie Press sure did.  Idiots.  What’s even worse is that they picked this movie over others as their favorite.  Most notibly?  The Pianist.  Another excellent from that year, The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers.  Yeah. My rating: 2 out of 10.

I’m hoping to do a regular Friday Flicks posting.  Hopefully they will be for better movies in the future.  If you want to watch an interesting/scary movie (not zombies!) try Phase 7 on Netflix.

About yogi126

I am a Jewish woman living in Baltimore. My husband and I enjoy movies a LOT. So, I thought I'd share our knowledge of movies, food, and life in general.

One response »

Leave a Reply

