RSS Feed

Vegan Matzoh Ball Soup

Posted on

So, my intent was to write multiple blog posts starting before Passover with all the food I was planning on making.  That obviously didn’t happen.  It seems no matter how much time before the holiday I start planning, I’m ALWAYS rushed.  It never ceases to amaze me.  And this year, I had off the WHOLE week before Passover started.  I did go on vacation from Sunday to Tuesday and had ran a half marathon on the Saturday before….  But still!

One of the first things I wanted to try to make was matzoh balls.  I knew I would not be making the soup til I came home from the seders as we were going to be in Delaware for both.  But, I wanted to try to at least get the kinks out of the veganized version of matzoh balls before I got too deep into cooking.

I took a three prong approach.  I was going to try three different binders/egg subs and see what works best.  As for the other parts of the matzoh balls, I used a package mix to keep the consistency between binders the same.  The first was 2.5 tbsp ground flax plus 3 tbsp water sub for an egg.  The second was 2.5 tbsp ground chia seeds plus 3 tbsp water sub for an egg.  The last was 1/4 cup of unsweetened applesauce as the sub for an egg.  In each bowl I mixed the egg sub, 1 tbsp olive oil, matzoh ball mix, and enough water to keep the dough together.  I then let each sit for 30 minutes in the fridge.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Balls in!

At this point I got a pot of salted water going.  I actually used the base I was going to use for the soup anyway, so it seemed like a plus.  I got that water boiling.  After the 30 minutes in the fridge, I took the dough and rolled it (gently, being careful not to overwork) into as many golf ball sized balls as the dough would allow.  The flax and chia both had about 8 balls, whereas the applesauce only made about 4.  Into the water it went, I turned the heat down to a low simmer, and walked away for 30 minutes.

When I returned I saw nothing.  Well, I saw cloudy broth.  The matzoh balls had all disintegrated into the broth.  I dug in with a spoon and found some strange gelatinous balls sitting at the bottom of the pot.  I think they were the chia ones, but I just chucked the pot of gunk.  Ew.  I was REALLY discouraged about this!

Ball Failure

But I persevered.  My next thoughts were to either bake or pan fry/sauté the balls, but I really wanted to make them traditionally.  So, I tried a hybrid chia/flax creation and didn’t allow the mixture to over cook, and BAM! This was it!

Disclaimer: These matzoh balls are NOT like the kind your grandmother makes.  They are not big, fluffy and white.  Due to the whole wheat, chia, and flax the balls are much more chewy.  If you want a slightly more traditional, you could try regular matzoh meal versus whole wheat.

Matzoh Balls

  • 1 package whole wheat matzoh ball mix
    • Option: ¾ cup whole wheat matzoh meal, ¼ tsp each salt, garlic powder, onion powder, white pepper, and baking soda/powder (whatever’s kosher for Passover)
  • 1.5 TBSP ground chia seeds
  • 4.5 TBSP ground flax seeds
  • 1 TBSP olive oil (or up to ¼ cup)
  • 6+ TBSP water

Mix together the chia, flax, and water to create the binder.  Add in the olive oil and dry mix.  If the dough doesn’t bind together, add more water 1 TBSP at a time until dough is just barely formed.  Set the dough aside in the fridge for 15 to 30 minutes.  Get a pot of salted water going to boil.  Just before adding the dough in, turn the heat down on the water to low so that there are no more bubbles, but it stays hot.  Form the dough into balls, making sure to not overwork the dough.  Drop in the water and cover.  Make sure the water doesn’t start bubbling again.  Cook for 20 minutes.

Success!

About yogi126

I am a Jewish woman living in Baltimore. My husband and I enjoy movies a LOT. So, I thought I'd share our knowledge of movies, food, and life in general.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: The Belated Seder – Vegan Edition – AMPMBM

  2. I was excited to try these. I followed the recipe but did not have chia seeds. I only used the flax eggs. I cooked according to directions and the matzoh balls were raw in the middle. Not edible.

    Reply
    • I’m so sorry to hear these didn’t work for you. If you’re not making them during Passover, I suggest using Isa Chandra Moskowitz’s recipe using silken tofu as the binder. I’ve also seen recipes using seltzer water and it working.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

