RSS Feed

Chocolate Cherry Bites

Posted on

Passover can be a difficult holiday, especially if you are vegetarian.  In years past I’ve spent much of the holiday eating a lot of dairy products.  This was also one of two times of the year I would also eat egg salad.  I wasn’t happy with it, but it seemed like the right thing to eat to get protein.  I’ve recently decided that I have no desire to eat eggs.  I haven’t given up all things (cookies) where eggs may be in, but I’m not actively cooking with them and I’m trying to avoid eggs as much as possible.

Welp, I needed to find something I could eat that was both portable, delicious, and had some protein in it.  I found this recipe from Oh She Glows.  I’ve eyed a few of her recipes, and I found this one to be very approachable and PERFECT for Passover.  The bonus is there is chocolate involved and I could use them for long run nutrition!

Chocolate Cherry Energy Bites

Ingredients

  • 1 cup raw almonds
  • 10 pitted dates
  • 1/2 cup sweetened dried cherries
  • 1/4 cup pecans
  • 1 TBSP honey
  • 1/4 cup chocolate
  • 1/4 tsp salt (optional)

Add the almonds to the food processor and work almonds until they are in small pieces but not to the flour stage.  Remove 1/3 cup of the almonds for later.  Add in the dates and process until the mixture starts to come together.  Add in the cherries and process until they are incorporated into the mix.  Lastly, add in the pecans, honey, and chocolate.  If you are using pecans that have added salt, don’t add extra salt, or add it at this point as well.  Mix until all items are equally incorporated.  Pulse in the reserved almonds.

With WET hands, pull off some dough and roll into a ball.  You should be able to get 15 to 18 golf ball sized bites from this recipe.  The bites can be stored at room temp, in the fridge, or the freezer.

Engery Bites

I used these on a 15 mile run the other day (fyi, that sucked!) and they were amazing.  There’s something about chocolate that keeps you going :).

About yogi126

I am a Jewish woman living in Baltimore. My husband and I enjoy movies a LOT. So, I thought I'd share our knowledge of movies, food, and life in general.

3 responses »

  1. you use it on the run!! You’re so awesome!

    Reply
  2. Can you use dark chocolate for this?

    Reply
    • PLEASE use dark chocolate! It’s my favorite! I was buying stuff kosher for Passover and the chocolate I found was in chip form and labeled as chocolate (not milk as it is parve).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

