RSS Feed

It’s Gardening Time!

Posted on
It’s Gardening Time!

Earlier this year we (my husband, cat, and I) moved to a new place.  I loved our old place.  It was in the Hampden/Roland Park area of Baltimore.  It had a deck that you could see all the way to the harbor.  We had a parking lot that usually one of us could park in.  I could walk to two different grocery stores, numerous shops, restaurants, and bars.  But the place was getting pretty cramped and it only had one bathroom, which can get a bit problematic when two people want to use it at the same time.  So, now I’m living in the county.  It’s really just outside of the city and is still just off 83, which allows me to get into work pretty easily, plus it is much closer for Ernie to get to work.

One of the perks about living in the county is that we have space.  We live in a duplex with 2 bedrooms, 1.5 baths, and a yard.  This space will hopefully mean we can get more animals (dog!) and I can plant a garden.  I tried a community garden a few years ago.  I got some radishes, beets, a few tomatoes, lettuce, and surprisingly some carrots.  But I failed at it.  The garden was in a park, not by my house, so I had to detour every day to go water.  That got old REALLY quickly.  So every day became every other day, became every third day….  You get the picture.

This year I am DETERMINED to get this right!  I am loosely following the Square Foot Gardening method by Mel Bartholomew.  I bought my dirt, which was a mixture of potting soil, peat moss, and some mulch.  I’m also terrible about following planting schedules, so I’m hoping my plants survive.  Lastly, I really really REALLY hope that I’m going to have enough fruit and vegetables that I can try canning/pickling.

Here’s the basic layout:

Full Garden

Big plants: (Clockwise from top left) Zucchini, spaghetti squash, japanese eggplant, and yellow squash.

Big plants

Small plants (clockwise from bottom left): beefsteak tomato, cucumbers, yellow tomato, yellow pear, empty, mesculun greens, arugula, onions, beets, beets, radish, jalapeno, empty, empty, onions, radish.

Oh, and I bought a blackberry plant.  I have no idea if it’ll take or when it will start producing fruit.  I’m assuming not til next year at the earliest.

Herbs (parsley, oregano, sage, thyme, basil, and chives)

Cucumber container plant

Little babies!

Any suggestions for my empty square feet?

About yogi126

I am a Jewish woman living in Baltimore. My husband and I enjoy movies a LOT. So, I thought I'd share our knowledge of movies, food, and life in general.

7 responses »

  1. Pingback: Front Yard Farms Explodes « NCHomesbyLarryT

  2. Ooooh a garden!! I am jealous! I’m sure with it being in your backyard you’ll be awesome at it.

    And if you have any extra spaghetti squash laying around I’ll take it!

    Reply
  3. I just hope it takes…. I have NOT had much luck with squash in the past. I’m hoping that giving each of the squashes two square feet each and some extra soil this will work.

    Reply
  4. And I will take yellow tomoatoes :-). I also have a canning pot – just need the accessories (and jars :-). What about brussel sprouts – they are a good fall plant and if I can recall correctly, the squash type plants need room to spread a bit, so I think you’re good.
    You can always throw some herbs my way as well :-).

    Reply
    • Sweet! I think if I end up succeeding in growing any of this, I will go invest in a canning pot and jars. I do have a big stock pot I could use, so maybe I just need the accessories as well.

      Reply
  5. Pingback: Front Yard Farms Explodes | Chapel Hill and Durham Real Estate

  6. Pingback: Front Yard Farms Explodes | NCHomesbyLarryT

Leave a Reply

