RSS Feed

Veggie Egg Rolls

Posted on
Veggie Egg Rolls

I thought I’d start off the new month with an easy to make recipe.  I don’t pretend to be gourmet, though sometimes I wish I was.  But most of the time I need food that is filling, fast, and delicious.  It’s also a bonus when I make food that my husband likes as well.  This is one of those recipes.  I used to LOVE eating veggie egg rolls from a take out restaurant, but I felt SO guilty eating a big roll of fried food.  So, I decided I wanted to make my own baked version.  Let me say that this version is by no means a final one.  I would change some things around next time, which I will mention at the end of the recipe.

Baked Vegetarian Egg Rolls

  • Egg Roll Wrappers (I used Nasoya, but I just received some vegan coconut wraps you could try)

    Ingredients

  • Package of coleslaw mix
  • 3/4 cup frozen edamame
  • 2/3 can of water chestnuts chopped
  • 2/3 can of bamboo shoots
  • 2 tbsp + rice vinegar
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • Sriracha

Heat sesame oil in pan on medium high heat and add frozen edamame.  Allow the beans to cook for a bit, maybe two minutes or so.  Add in the bamboo shoots and water chestnuts and stir fry for a minute or so.

Edamame, bamboo shoots, and water chestnuts

Add in the package of coleslaw mix and stir.  You may need to add this in batches.  After the cabbage has cooked down a bit add in the vinegar, soy sauce, and sriracha (if using).  Stir to combine and cook for just a minute more.

All ingredients in

Turn off the heat and set the pan aside.  On a clean surface take one wrapper and place so that it looks like a diamond.  Add about two tablespoons of filling to the wrapper.

Place filling in wrapper

First fold the bottom corner up over the filling.

Fold up the bottom next

 Next fold in the two side corners.

Then fold in the sides

 Lastly, roll the wrapper until it’s completely covered.  Don’t pull too hard as the wrappers rip fairly easy.  Repeat this process until you finish with all your filling.  Mine made 14 rolls with lots of wrappers left over.

Assembled rolls

Place rolls on a greased pan and either spray the tops with spray olive oil or if you want an egg wash.  Place in a 400 degree oven for 15ish minutes.  I would check on them after about 10 minutes and see how much longer they may need.  Take out the rolls and enjoy!

Done!

What I would do differently next time….  I would use my wok.  I think I could get a better crunch on the vegies this way.  My inside wasn’t mush, but I wanted a bit more of a bite.  I might also try pan frying my egg rolls so that they get more of a sear to them.  Again, I think this recipe is really versatile and can be changed around to whatever you may have on hand.  I would love to have put mushrooms in this, but my husband would have killed me.  You could easily add chicken to this to make it meaty or add tofu if you prefer over edamame.  Again, easy peasy.  Also, these freeze REALLY well.  I stuck a few in the sandwich sized ziplock bag.  I put them in the fridge overnight to thaw and they were fine when I went to use them.  Oh, and USE SESAME OIL for sure.  A little bit goes a long way, but it totally adds a depth of flavor that this recipe needs.  Just remember to store it in the dark as it can go rancid fairly quickly.

About yogi126

I am a Jewish woman living in Baltimore. My husband and I enjoy movies a LOT. So, I thought I'd share our knowledge of movies, food, and life in general.

Leave a Reply

