RSS Feed

Veggie Scramble

Posted on
Veggie Scramble

Do you ever get into a breakfast rut?  I’m not a fan of cereal and milk, so cereal is out.  I’ve decided to cut down on my dairy consumption, so yogurt is out (and soy yogurt is pretty darn expensive).  So, I’ve been pretty much just eating oatmeal in various flavors for breakfast four mornings a week.  I have started making green monsters one day a week, and weekends are either free for alls or I get something at the farmer’s market (Ethiopian “sandwiches” are PERFECT post run food).

So, this Sunday after I got home from a very hot run, I wanted to make something hearty and easy.  I’ve seen others make tofu scrambles in the past, but I really didn’t want a big plate of tofu.  I like tofu, don’t get me wrong, but a big plate of it?  Not so much.  So, I made MY version of a scramble, with enough for Monday’s breakfast as well.

Veggie Scramble

  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 3/4 cup frozen shredded potatoes or one medium potato shredded/diced
  • 1 small zucchini chopped
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1-2 cloves garlic or pickled garlic scapes (go for the scapes!)
  • 6 baby bellas
  • 1/4 of a slab of tofu diced
  • assorted herbs: rosemary, basil, salt, pepper… pretty much anything

Heat a pan to medium high heat and add in the oil and onion.  Add in the potatoes and let them cook for 3ish minutes.  Add in the garlic and tofu and cook for another 3-5 minutes.  Add in the zucchini and cook another 3ish minutes.  Finally, add in the mushrooms and the herbs.  Cook for another 5ish minutes or until everything is heated through/done to your likeness.  Again, the nice thing is nothing has to be cooked, so it’s mostly about preference.

I sprinkled some nutritional yeast on top and served it with a HUGE and ripe tomato.  ZOMG, so good :).  Next time I might try a mexi version and use corn in the mix.  I found by making the veggies the star and not the tofu, this would be well tolerated by people who might not love tofu.

Scrambled veggies and a tomato

About yogi126

I am a Jewish woman living in Baltimore. My husband and I enjoy movies a LOT. So, I thought I'd share our knowledge of movies, food, and life in general.

Leave a Reply

