RSS Feed

Zucchini Bread

Posted on
Zucchini Bread

Have you ever gotten one of those MONSTER sized zucchini from the farmer’s market and thought to yourself, “what am I going to do with this”?  Well, on Thursday I went out to the garden and found the biggest zucchini I’ve seen yet.  Two days before I felt like it would be fine for another day or so…  Boy, was I wrong.  So, I decided to make zucchini bread.  I found a recipe on Culinate‘s site and decided to run with it/tweak it a bit.

Vegan Zucchini Bread

  • 2 cups zucchini, grated and loosely packed

    Look at the size of that zucchini!

  • 2 TBSP ground flax seed
  • 1.5 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 TBSP cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup almond milk (or other non-dairy milk)
  • Juice of one lemon (and zest if you’ve got it)
  • 4 TBSP coconut oil
  • 3 TBSP blackstrap molasses (or agave or maple syrup)
  • 1/3 cup each raisins and craisins

Preheat the oven to 350 F and oil and dust with flour a 9×5 loaf pan.  To grate the zucchini, I would suggest using either a mandolin or a food processor.  The Mandolin will be a more fine grate than the processor.

Mandolin ($16 from BB&B) Totally worth it

To a large bowl add the zucchini, flax seed, flour, zest (if using), cinnamon, baking soda, baking powder, and brown sugar.  Mix the ingredients well.

Zucchini plus dry ingredients mixed

In a small bowl mix the milk and the lemon juice.  This mixture will curdle.

Curdled almond milk

Add the oil and the molasses and mix well.

Wet ingredents together

Gently mix the wet ingredients into the zucchini mixture and fold the raisins or craisins into the mixture as well.  Do not over mix the batter.

Batter

Pour the batter into the prepared loaf pan and bake for 45 minutes.  Let the loaf cool for 5-10 minutes, remove from the pan and enjoy!

Zucchini Bread

About yogi126

I am a Jewish woman living in Baltimore. My husband and I enjoy movies a LOT. So, I thought I'd share our knowledge of movies, food, and life in general.

3 responses »

  1. Wow – have made zucchini bread before – but this recipe looks much better than the one I use, will have to try it – thanks!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: New Belgium Beer | A Jew Broad Cooks

Leave a Reply

