RSS Feed

Gazpacho

Posted on
Gazpacho

I love tomatoes.  I have four tomato plants currently going (though some animals keep eating my big tomatoes!).  I like tomatoes raw, cooked, roasted, etc.  So, now that it’s the start of tomato season, I’ve been going a little nuts.  I’m throwing tomatoes in my salads, making tomato sandwiches, and now I’ve made soup.  But not just any soup, I’ve made gazpacho.  What’s great about gazpacho is that it’s SUPER easy, super delicious, and is naturally vegetarian/vegan.  I’ve never made my own gazpacho before as I thought it was hard, but as long as you have a food processor, your work is done for you.  After searching through recipes that used ingredients like sherry, bread, and some others, I found one by Ina Garten that is both simple and looked great.

I actually don’t like bell peppers, so I switched those out for some pickled jalapenos.  I preferred the bite from my recipe, but feel free to change the recipe back to bell peppers or to use both in yours.

Gazpacho

  • 1 large cucumber, can be peeled completely or done as stripes and de-seeded

    Ingredients

  • 2.5 medium sized tomatoes or about 4 roma tomatoes diced
  • 1/4 to 1/2 of a yellow onion diced
  • 2 to 4 cloves of garlic (I used 3, though 1 was pickled)
  • 1 pickled jalapeno
  • 3 cups tomato or vegetable juice (low-sodium is fine)
  • 1/4 cup vinegar (either white or red)
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp ground black pepper

I decided to only do stripes for the peel on the cucumber.  Cut the cucumber in half, de-seed, and then roughly chop the cucumber.  Roughly chop the onion and the garlic as well.

Chopped cucumber, onion, and garlic

Place the three veggies in a food processor and pulse chop the veggies.

Cukes in processor

DO NOT OVER PROCESS the vegetables.

Processed cukes

Place the processed veggies into your container.  Chop the tomatoes.  There is no need to de-seed the tomatoes unless you are opposed to them.  If your jalapeno is in rings, there is no need to chop.  If it is whole, chop the jalapeno.  Add the tomato and jalapeno to the food processor.

Chopped tomatoes

Again pulse chop the veggies and DO NOT over process.

Processed tomatoes

Add the tomatoes to the cucumber mixture.  Add the juice, vinegar, oil, and seasonings to the veggies.

Everything added in

Mix well.  Let this sit in the fridge at least 3 hours to over night.

Gazpacho

Serve with some bread, more pickled jalapenos, and/or freshly chopped parsley.

Bowl of soup

This really may be the easiest recipe ever.  If you have a hand blender or a regular blender, you could also use those to lightly chop your veggies.  Feel free to experiment with yellow tomatoes, different peppers (maybe some adobo for a Mexican themed soup), or trying with sherry or different spices.  The best part is you have a large container of soup for multiple lunches or dinners for the week.  And it gets better over time!

 

About yogi126

I am a Jewish woman living in Baltimore. My husband and I enjoy movies a LOT. So, I thought I'd share our knowledge of movies, food, and life in general.

One response »

  1. Pingback: A Vegetarian Meal Your Kid Will Love | Navigating Vita

Leave a Reply

