RSS Feed

Dark Knight Rises

Posted on

Let me first say that I think I’ll watch anything by Christopher Nolan.  He has vision and he brings you into his vision in many beautiful and stunning ways.  I have seen seven of the eight full length films he directed.  If you add in his producer credits, you add in another full length film to the list.  I find his work to be absolutely amazing, even if he can be a little obvious about his commentary/thoughts on the world.

Everyone knows The Dark Knight, well, I’m assuming that everyone does.  It was a dark movie with intense action and some really brutal themes.  But Heath Ledger gave the performance of a lifetime.  He took what could have been a cartoony character and gave it depth.  He made The Joker a dark twisted yet theatrical person who was capable of so much horror but brought enough levity to make you not dislike the character.

I also fully enjoy some of his less known works.  One of Ernie’s favorite movies happens to be The Prestige, which Nolan was producer and writer on.  It’s an amazing period piece that includes David Bowie as Tesla!  David Bowie fully seals the deal.  Another favorite happens to be Memento, which is actually surprising to me.  The main character has short-term memory loss, so he tattoos bits of the story on his body.  I dislike disjointed time for the most part, but the story telling is SO amazing, you just can’t help but get involved.  But I digress…

I saw Dark Knight Rises after seeing all the hype and the info about it.  I think the casting was absolutely superb.  Christian Bale as Bruce Wayne is so good as he’s so intense.  I don’t love the voice he does as Batman, but that’s my thing.  I love that Alfred, played by the great Michael Caine, gets fed up with Bruce’s wanton need to self destruct.  He gets fed up with Bruce Wayne and leaves him.  There is also a new love interest for Bruce played by Marion Cotillard.  Another wonderful addition to the cast was Blake, played by Jason Gordon-Levitt.  He embodied all attributes that you HOPE a police officer would have.  His whole being was to protect and serve.  You see so much hope for humanity in him.  The other GREAT casting was Anne Hathaway as Selena Kyle.  LOVED HER!  Again, it’s hard to picture cat woman.  Halle Berry did a terrible job.  I liked Michelle Pfeiffer’s turn at it, but I didn’t see how the story would fit in on this latest story line.  Well, it was accomplished and was done well.  The character was both hilarious and had this depth to her that you understood her pain.  I wished there were more scenes with Serena Kyle. 

On the other hand, I did not love the character Bane.  Don’t get me wrong, I think Tom Hardy did an amazing job.  I think the acting was superb.  But, I think the character Bane was so evil, so unredeeming, that I could in no way ignore his terribleness.  I know the connection that Bane has with the one person he loves in his life (not giving it away!) is supposed to show a bit of humanity.  But I felt like it was too little too late.  I felt completely horrified by Bane’s actions/thought processes that I was turned off from him.  I did not feel this aversion to the Joker.  In Batman Begins I felt nothing towards either the Scarecrow (well, he was scary and funny all at the same time) or Ra’s al Ghul because they were just villains.  They were expected in my mind.  On the other hand, Bane just felt overly evil.  I just didn’t get it.

Sorry this is so long, but to summarize, I actually did really like this movie.  If you’ve seen the first two you HAVE to see this one.  If you haven’t seen the first two, I would suggest doing so.  And then see this one.  I give this movie a 7.5 out of 10.

About yogi126

I am a Jewish woman living in Baltimore. My husband and I enjoy movies a LOT. So, I thought I'd share our knowledge of movies, food, and life in general.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Batman is a horrible person. | West End Singleton

  2. Sorry everyone! Ernie just told me about all the misspellings. I think I’ve corrected them all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

