RSS Feed

Bottle Shock Review

Posted on

If you look up the movie Bottle Shock on IMDB, it will give you like minded movies.  They include Juno, Thank You for Smoking, Sunshine Cleaning, and Lars and the Real Girl.  These are all movies that I have enjoyed, so it should be no suprise that I liked Bottle Shock.

I saw this movie on Netflix a few months ago and had never gotten around to watching it.  Well, hurricane Sandy came and I ended up with a four day weekend.  So, needless to say, I was itching to watch a good movie.  Honestly, my biggest complaint about the movie has nothing to do with the movie itself , but has to do with the fact that Netflix put this movie in the documentaries section.  This is not a documentary.  So, if you see this movie and are turned off by the idea that it is a documentary, I promise you it is not.  There are no original scenes from the historical French vs. California wines showdown.  I digress…

This movie is about Napa Valley coming into its own.  It centers around a winery called Chateau Montelena.  The winery is struggling to make the BEST chardonnay ever.  The owner’s son, Bo, “works” at the vineyard, though he spends much of his time wooing women.  A man in France who owns a wine shop and considers himself an expert on wines, wants to host a California (Amercia) vs. Italy blind taste test in Italy with people that have the best palate in the world.  So, he comes to California and happens on Chateau Montelena.  Of course there are more issues between Bo and his father and Bo and his friend Gustavo over a girl.

Chris Pine with long hair. Told you

The drama is not what this movie is about.  You get to see such wonderful sweeping landscape of Napa.  And it really does look like that. Not sure if I’ve mentioned, but Ernie and I went to Napa for our honeymoon.  If you like wine at all, even a little bit, I suggest going at some point in your life.  You don’t have to be a snob.  Actually most places would prefer you NOT being a snob.  It’s just a beautiful place with some really great people.  Back to the movie…  The drama adds just enough to keep the movie from getting stale or too one note.  But there are some points that feel frivolous.  The point where Bo goes to see his mother for money for some new barrels?  Not needed.  Also, HATE the wig/extensions they put on Chris Pine to give him long hair.  It’s pretty distracting actually.  But you do get to learn that the term bottle shock comes from when a bottle of wine is transported, it needs about two weeks to sit/settle before being opened.  The jarring/jostling that happens during transport can taint the true taste of the wine.

I won’t tell you the ending, though I’m sure you can figure it out. I give this movie an 8 out of 10.  It really is good.  And I maybe kind of think Alan Rickman is awesome.

About yogi126

I am a Jewish woman living in Baltimore. My husband and I enjoy movies a LOT. So, I thought I'd share our knowledge of movies, food, and life in general.

Leave a Reply

