RSS Feed

Pumpkin Maple Rolls

Posted on

I love pumpkin.  It’s delicious and really good for you without all the added sugar to it (though I do love some sugar…).  And while you can buy canned pumpkin year round, I tend to sort of only want pumpkin during the fall/winter times.  I really want to at some point try to roast and make my own pumpkin puree, but I do love the convenience of canned pumpkin.  This will actually be the first of two pumpkin recipes that I’ve made recently.

I made these first two weeks ago for a brunch I had with a group of my running buddies.  We went up to the NCR trail and ran 10 miles first.  Then we went back to a friend’s house, where she hosted a VERY lovely brunch at her place, complete with protein shots and mimosas!  In an effort to want to try this recipe before I brought them to my in-laws, I made these first for the group and they went over so well, I knew I could make them for day after Thanksgiving brunch.  Thanks to Vegan Heartland for creating this recipe.  I really only modified it a touch to add more spice.  This recipe is split into three parts as there are three steps to assembling these rolls.

Dough Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup non-dairy milk

    Dough Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/4 cup light oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp yeast

Pumpkin dough pre-rising

The official instructions have that you mix all the wet ingredients together in one bowl and sift together the dry ingredients in a separate bowl.  You would then add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix well.  I on the other hand just mix everything in one bowl, though I usually add all the wet ingredients first, then add the dry to them.  Knead the dough on a lightly floured surface for about 5 minutes, then place the dough back in the bowl to rise and cover with a towel.  This step can be done a day or so in advance if need be.

Filling Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup vegan margarine (I used Earth Balance)

    Maple filling ingredients

  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice (plus more for dusting)
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 3 tbsp maple syrup

Rolled out dough

Whip together the filling ingredients.  Using a mixer will make the filling nice and light.  Set this aside.  When the dough has doubled in size, roll it out in a rectangle about 12×16.  Spread the filling evenly over the dough and all the way out to the edges.  Sprinkle some extra pumpkin pie spice for some added punch.  Roll the dough up so that it stays long.  Cut the dough in about 1 inch pieces and add to an oiled baking dish.  Cover and let rise until doubled in size.  This can be done the night/day before you want to bake them.  Bake the rolls at 350 F for 20 to 25 minutes.  Make the icing while the rolls are baking.

Rolling up dough

Icing Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar

    Icing ingredients

  • 3 tbsp non-dairy milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon

Mix together all the ingredients.  Once the rolls are out of the oven, pour the icing evenly over the rolls.  ENJOY!

Pre baked rolls

Notes: Yes this may seem like a lot of work, but these are AMAZING.  Also, you really can make the dough a day or so before you need it then store in the refrigerator.  I don’t advise trying to add more pumpkin to the dough mixture without adding more flour.  It makes the dough pretty sticky.  Also, you can sub in honey or some other liquid sweetener other than maple syrup.  But syrup is very delicious, so I used it.

Ready to eat!

 

 

About yogi126

I am a Jewish woman living in Baltimore. My husband and I enjoy movies a LOT. So, I thought I'd share our knowledge of movies, food, and life in general.

One response »

  1. And I can attest – they were to die for!!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

