RSS Feed

Lasagna Soup

Posted on
Lasagna Soup

Well, it’s official.  It’s cold.  Like REALLY cold.  So, most nights I really just want something warm and hearty to eat.  Lasagna would totally fit that bill. Unfortunately I find making lasagna a little more tedious than what I would normally have on a weeknight.  Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE lasagna.  I think I asked my mom to make lasagna for my birthday dinner for YEARS!  So, when I saw this recipe for lasagna soup, I knew I had to make it, with a few tweaks.  I stayed pretty true to the original recipe, but I will make some suggestions at the end to make the soup a little different each time.

Lasagna Soup Ingredients:

  • 2 tsp olive oilLasagna soup ingredients
  • 1 medium chopped onion
  • 3-4 cloves garlic, smashed
  • 3 Tofurky sausages
  • 2 Tbsp tomato paste
  • 2 tsp dried oregano
  • 2 tsp dried basil
  • 1-2 tsp dried red pepper flakes
  • 2 14oz cans fire roasted tomatoes
  • 6 cups veggie stock
  • 8 oz lasagna noodles or fusilli
  • 8 oz ricotta cheese
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese

Sweating onions and garlicHeat the olive oil over medium to medium high heat.  Add the onion and sweat for a minute or two.  Add the garlic and cook another few minutes until the onion is translucent.   Add two of the sausages that are cut up in slices.  With the third, crumble before adding to the pot.  Cook another minute or two.  Add tomato paste and the oregano, basil, and red pepper flakes.  Stir to combine and allow to cook until the paste turns darker in color.  Sausage added

Add the tomatoes with their juices and the veggie stock.  Turn down the heat and cover the pot and allow the soup to simmer.  While the soup is cooking, heat water in a separate pan to cook the noodles in.  Salt the cooking water well.  Break up the noodles if using lasagna before cooking.  Drain the noodles and rinse them off.

Cooked noodles

Cooked noodles

While the soup is simmering and the noodles are cooking, make the ricotta topping.  In a bowl mix the ricotta cheese, nutritional yeast, and the salt and pepper.  Mix well and set aside.

Ricotta mixture

Ricotta mixture

After the soup has simmered for at least a half hour, ladle into bowls for serving.  Add some noodles to each bowl then top with a dollop of the ricotta mixture and some shredded cheese.  If you have any fresh basil you can add  some ribbons to each bowl or top it off with a few more shakes of red pepper flakes.

Soup simmering away

Soup simmering away

There are a few changes that I’d make the next time I cook this soup.  The first is that I’d probably add some spinach to the soup.  It wouldn’t add too much to the soup to take away from the flavor and would add so much more in the way of nutrition.  I may also add other veggies like zucchini and squash when they are in season (or if I’d preserved any for next winter).  If you wanted to make this vegan, use Daiya shredds instead of the mozzarella.  To sub for the ricotta, use firm tofu that you can either process in a food processor or with a fork and smash to little chunks.  Flavor this with some salt and spices and maybe a touch of lemon juice to use as ricotta in the recipe.

Enjoy!

Composed soup

Composed soup

About yogi126

I am a Jewish woman living in Baltimore. My husband and I enjoy movies a LOT. So, I thought I'd share our knowledge of movies, food, and life in general.

Leave a Reply

