RSS Feed

Film Review: Point Break

Posted on

Sorry I missed last week’s flicks Friday, but here we go again…  I’ve seen a few random movies lately, so I was a little uncertain about what I should review for today.  But Point Break won out.  For some reason HBO or one of the movie channels has been playing the movie pretty much non-stop over the past two weeks.  So, here it goes.

Point Break

I have a few things I want to say before I get to the actual movie.  The first is that I puffy heart Keanu Reeves.  Like probably more than I should.  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t really want to hear him talk (all I hear is him in Bill and Ted), but he’s done some pretty awesome movies and I really like the way he looks.  Secondly, everytime I see Patrick Swayze now it makes me a little sad.  He looks so alive in this movie that it is a very big contrast from the pictures you saw of him right before he passed.  And lastly, Kathryn Bigelow directed this movie.  WHOA!  She of Zero Dark Thirty and The Hurt Locker fame made a surfer movie.  Just sayin.

The premis of this movie is that the FBI is trying to take down a group of bank robbers.  The lead on the case, Pappas as played by Gary Busey has a hunch that the bank robbers are surfers.  So, a new recruit named Johnny Utah (Keanu Reeves) goes undercover as a lawyer that wants to learn how to surf.  Johnny hooks up with a group of surfers lead by Bodhi (Patrick Swayze) and ends up joining in their lifestyle.  While learning to surf he ends up falling for Bodhi’s ex-girlfriend Tyler (Lori Petty).

Nice abs!

The longer Johnny is under cover, the more he loses sight of what he went under for.  He convinces his supervisors to raid this rival surfing group’s house, which goes horribly wrong (hello Anthony Kiedis!) and the group turns out to be meth dealers NOT the bank robbers.  Eventually Johnny realizes it can only mean that Bodhi and his friends are the guys behind the Ex Presidents robbing jobs.  Pappas and Johnny are at the site of a robbery and catch the guys after the fact.  Johnny chases down the guy wearing Reagan mask, but he can’t shoot him (and has one of the best scenes in the process).  At this point Johnny reveals to Tyler that everything he’s told her is a lie.  She’s angry, but yet, Johnny still thinks that he’s still ok with Bohdi and his friends.  He even goes sky diving with them.  Of course they have a whole other plan, which includes another robbery and escaping to Mexico.  I won’t tell the end of the movie, but it’s pretty predictable.  Lots of people die.

Best Scene

I give this movie an 8 out of 10.  It’s SUPER entertaining and the sheer adrenaline from the surfing scenes and other extreme sports is CRAZY!

About yogi126

I am a Jewish woman living in Baltimore. My husband and I enjoy movies a LOT. So, I thought I'd share our knowledge of movies, food, and life in general.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Friday Flicks: Friday Night Lights | A Jew Broad Cooks

Leave a Reply

