RSS Feed

Falafel Pie

Posted on

Do you like falafel?  But do you hate to have to make the little balls and possibly frying them?  I know I do.  I do really love enjoy eating falafel.  My favorite was in Israel on the street with fries in the pita (and lots of harissa!).  I made this recipe a few weeks ago for a potluck and I think it went over well.  This recipe is actually a two-fer as I’ll give a recipe for tzatziki sauce as well.  I got the recipe from a blog called The Vegan Stoner.  It’s actually a really great recipe site.  All the recipes are super quick and easy.

Ingredients:

Ingredients

Ingredients

  • Falafel mix
  • Hummus
  • Tomato
  • Cucumber
  • 10 oz soft silken tofu
  • lemon juice (from half a lemon)
  • dill
  • salt, pepper
  • optional: avocado, olives

Directions for Falafel Pie:

Mix falafel mix with prescribed amount of water and allow to sit for ten minutes.

Falafel mixed up

Falafel mixed up

In a greased pan, spread the falafel mix.  Bake at 425 F for 15 to 25 minutes (depending on your oven).

Falafel out of the oven

Falafel out of the oven

Bring the falafel out and allow to cool for  15ish minutes (until you can handle the pan).  Spread hummus in an even layer on to the falafel.

Hummus on top

Hummus on top

Top with you cut up veggies, such that you form circles (if you want to make it pretty).  Lastly, top with the tzatziki sauce.

Veggies added

Veggies added

Directions for Tzatziki Sauce:

Tzatziki sauce

Tzatziki sauce

In a blender (a magic bullet works GREAT), add the silken tofu, lemon juice, salt, and dill.  Blend for two minutes or until the mixture is smooth.  Add more lemon juice if need be.  Add some chopped cucumber to the tzatziki.

Finished pie

Finished pie

Happy Pi Day!

About yogi126

I am a Jewish woman living in Baltimore. My husband and I enjoy movies a LOT. So, I thought I'd share our knowledge of movies, food, and life in general.

Leave a Reply

