RSS Feed

Preserved Meyer Lemons

Posted on
Preserved Meyer Lemons

It’s winter (almost spring!) and I’m slowly making my way through the jars of veggies I preserved this summer.  I still have some pickles, carrots, and tomatoes, but my hot peppers are long gone.  It’s a cue I guess for next year.  But in the mean time I had an itch to do SOMETHING in the kitchen.  So, I knew a bit ago that it was Meyer Lemon season and I’d never made preserved lemons before.  It seemed easy enough, so I gave it a try.

Salt Preserved Meyer Lemons

  • Meyer Lemons (about 4-5)
  • Kosher salt (non-iodine kind)
  • Sterile quart jar

The process is pretty simple.  Quarter the lemons, but DO NOT CUT ALL THE WAY THROUGH.  Put about a tablespoon or two of salt in the bottom of the jar.  Pour more salt into the cuts of the lemons so that the flesh gets covered.  Pack the jar with the cut lemons and then squish the lemons down.  REALLY pack them down and get the juices running.  If you have extra lemons that won’t fit in, you can juice them into the jar.  That’s all.  About every two days shake up the jar to make sure the lemons are covered with juice.  After three weeks the lemons should be ready.  Store in the fridge for up to a year.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I cannot WAIT to make this recipe.  I have been making my own salad dressing lately, so this would work GREAT!

 

About yogi126

I am a Jewish woman living in Baltimore. My husband and I enjoy movies a LOT. So, I thought I'd share our knowledge of movies, food, and life in general.

2 responses »

  1. We have so many lemons right now and just yesterday I was reading through a recipe for preserving them – very similar to yours. There will be preserved lemons in my near future! I look forward to reading more of your blog.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Restaurant Review: Indigma | A Jew Broad Cooks

Leave a Reply

