RSS Feed

Friday Flicks: MIB 3 and a PSA

Posted on

MIB 3 poster

I wasn’t able to get in a film review for last week, so hopefully my TWO reviews this week will help make up for it.  The first movie I want to review is Men In Black 3.  I happened to catch this  on Sunday afternoon and thought “why not”?  The movie was both better and worse than I expected it to be.

The premise of the movie is that Agent K (Tommy Lee Jones) is erased in the future because an alien named Boris the Animal (Jemaine Clement) goes back in time and changes an interaction they had.  Agent J (Will Smith) goes back in time to the day before the interaction in an effort to try to kill off Boris before he has a chance to kill K.  J is not supposed to make himself known to K, but of course things go awry.  J gets brought in for questioning and almost neuralized.  He eventually convinces K of his mission and the two of them go after Boris with the help of Andy Worhol (he’s an agent!) and Griffin (Michael Stuhlbarg), an alien who sees all possibilities in time.  Eventually they succeed in defeating Boris, but there is a cost.

Jemaine!

What was bad about the movie?  Will Smith.  He plays the same character in almost all of his movies.  He’s the fast talking black guy.  It’s getting old.  And he’s getting too old to be playing that young guy part.  I kind of liked his character in Persuit of Happyness, but that’s been the exception for him lately.  What’s weird was that I didn’t hate Tommy Lee Jones in this.  He’s playing the same character, but I guess I have just liked enough of what’s he’s done to appreciate this role of his.  I just feel like Will Smith never does anything else except Will Smith movies.

What I did like was the ending of the movie.  The twist was original and very heartfelt.  The interactions between the characters and the addition of Emma Thompson as Agent O are also very good in this movie.  I loved Jemaine Clement as Boris the Animal.  Any time I can see Jemaine is a good time.

Rating: 6.0 out of 10

Bonus: I also watched Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengence recently.  I know I’ve discussed my love of Nicholas Cage before.  But this movie was too much.  No matter how much you may love terrible acting by terrible actors, this movie goes even farther to just plain AWFUL.  Do NOT watch this movie.  It is not worth it at all.

Rating: 1.0 out of 10

TERRIBLE movie

About yogi126

I am a Jewish woman living in Baltimore. My husband and I enjoy movies a LOT. So, I thought I'd share our knowledge of movies, food, and life in general.

2 responses »

  1. rasputinaesque

    I haven’t seen the “Ghost Rider” films, but Nic Cage’s remake of “The Wicker Man” is an absolute travesty. It’s bizarre to me that Cage can do such great work in films like “Adaptation,” “Leaving Las Vegas” and “Wild at Heart,” yet also produce such stinkers.

    Reply
    • Ok, so the first Ghost Rider is a guilty pleasure. It did not win any Oscars for sure. But as a movie translation of a comic, I thought it was good. As for “Wicker Man”, I had no idea what to make of that movie while I was watching it. It was so terrible and bizarre I think I’ve blocked it from my memory.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

