RSS Feed

Friday Flicks: Oz the Great and Powerful

Posted on

Movie Poster

I was going to avoid reviewing movies that are currently out in the theaters, but I had been super excited to see this movie.  Not sure if you caught the past tense.  I am a HUGE fan of the Wizard of Oz and I read the book “Wicked” a few years ago.  So, I’m a fan of the Oz genre if you will.  The casting is great, so again, I was slightly disappointed that I didn’t like the movie more than I did.

Zach Braff as monkey side kick

The premise of the movie is that Oscar Digs “Oz” (James Franco) is a circus magician and lothario.  In trying to escape a jealous boyfriend Oz hops on a hot air balloon and into an oncoming tornado.  He wakes up in a new land.  There he is greeted by Theodora (Mila Kunis) who tells him of her father’s death and the coming of this great wizard, which he agrees to being due to promises of wealth.    Once they arrive in the Emerald City, they meet up with Evanora (Rachel Weisz).  Evanora is not who she seems and manages to convince Theodora that Oz is not a good guy and has cheated on her.  This causes Theodora to go crazy and go to the dark side with Evanora.  She eats a piece of fruit and “bam” she turns green and becomes truly wicked.

Theodora/Wicked Witch

As this is going on Oz goes out in search of Glinda (Michelle Williams) who is falsely accused of killing her father.  Oz and his sidekick monkey (voice by Zach Braff)  and the China girl realize they’ve been duped and join Glinda and the people of Oz to fight back.  They use Oz’s ingenuity and know how along with the help of the people to mis-direct and terrify the wicked witches.  Their plan works and sets up the future of Oz as the wizard.

I saw the movie in 2-D, so it didn’t have the pop and wow of 3-D. There were some scenes of the movie that I recognized were specifically shot for 3-D.  I do realize that I probably missed out in the full experience of the movie, but if I can’t enjoy it as 2-D, then I would not have enjoyed it at home later.  It allowed me to fully appreciate everything going on in the movie with the characters.  And I just didn’t feel like there was a whole lot to be overly excited about.  I did absolutely LOVE the acting and the surprise actor that I had no clue was in the movie.  For all you “geeks” out there Mr. Bruce Campbell has a very small part in the movie.  You could totally miss him, but he’s the gatekeeper at the entrance to the Emerald City.  I totally geeked out at the movie when I saw him.

Bruce!

It’s not that I’m NOT recommending this movie, it’s just that if you go see the movie, I’ve heard that it’s MUCH better in 3-D.

Rating: 6.5 out of 10

Official Trailer

About yogi126

I am a Jewish woman living in Baltimore. My husband and I enjoy movies a LOT. So, I thought I'd share our knowledge of movies, food, and life in general.

One response »

  1. Thanks! I was thinking of seeing it at the Imax if it is still there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

